Fermer le menu

QuanG – Call for application – Autumn 2022 PhD Program

PhD grants in quantum sciences and technologies in Grenoble

We are opening in Grenoble a common PhD call in quantum sciences and technologies supported by the LANEF Excellence Laboratory, the QuanTEdu PhD program operated by the QuantAlps federation and the QuanG Marie-Sklodowska-Curie Action COFUND program of the European Union.
We are seeking talented and motivated applicants in the domains of physics, computer science, engineering, mathematics, chemistry, and humanities. Applications from female candidates are strongly encouraged.


Practical informations

  • Starting date: February 1st 2023 to June 1st 2023
  • For the QuanG/LANEF projects: gross salary prior to employee tax deduction about 2300 euro. Additional  travel allowance will be granted by the QuanG program to cover the secondment costs, including travel and accommodation, as well as the participation to international conferences and schools
  • Yearly enrollment to University Grenoble Alpes is around 500 euros (covered by QuanG)
  • Duration: 36 months
  • Application procedure: candidates should construct a PhD project together with their future supervisors following the instructions detailed in the application form. Two reference letters following the model proposed in the application form should be sent directly to the email address: quantum-grenoble-phd@listes.grenoble.cnrs.fr
  • Eligibility criteria and scientific areas depending on the funding scheme:

Table PhD Call

  • Deadlines and timeline:
    • October 7th, 2022 at 17:00 (central European time): the full application form and the reference letters should be sent by email to quantum-grenoble-phd@listes.grenoble.cnrs.fr
    • November 7th, 2022: selection of candidates for an interview
    • December 7th to 14th, 2022: interview of the selected candidates
    • December 19th, 2022: information on the outcome of the selection
    • January 3th, 2023: acceptance of the positions will be required from the selected candidates

Results of the PhD Call 2022

Nine funded candidates :

  • AKAR Elçin: “GaN-based single-nanowire resonant photodetectors using quantum confined states”,  co-supervisors E. Monroy and M. Den Hertog.
  • GRANGER Francis: “Non-cryogenic on-chip single photon source based on semiconductor quantum dot”, co-supervisors K. Kheng and G. Nogues.
  • HELLUIN Félix “Universal properties of two-dimensional exciton-polariton condensates”, co-supervisors  Anna Minguzzi and Michele Filippone.
  • KHVALYUK Anton: “Low-energy theory of strongly disordered superconductors”, co-supervisors Denis Basko and Benjamin Sacépé.
  • MARQUARDT Nils: “Enlightening Spin-triplet Superconductivity in UTe2”, co-supervisors G. Knebel and D. Le Boeuf.
  • MORINEAU Félix: “Magnetic monopole noise and fluctuation dissipation relation”, co-supervisors E. Lhotel and M. Zhitomiirsky.
  • SARRADE Jeremy : “Superconductivity, magnetism and quantum criticality in CeRh1-xIrxIn5”, co-supervisors I. Sheikin and T. Klein
  • TSUCHIDA NOGUEIRA Camila “Development and investigation of new lanthanide doped nanocrystals for nanothermometry”, co-supervisors Alain Ibanez and J. Carvalho (University of Goias-Brazil) co-funded with CAPES (Brazil).
  • VASSELON Thomas: “Electronic Flying qubits with ultrashort electronic wave packets”, co-supervisors C. Bauerle and X. Waintal.

LANEF PhD Program 2022

LANEF PhD Program is a three year program to support PhD training of excellent students.

The thesis will be prepared in one of the six laboratories (IRIG, LPMMC, G2Elab, LNCMI, LiPhy, NEEL) on a topic related to one or several of the following Challenges:

  • Quantum Materials
  • Nanophysics and Quantum Engineering
  • Electrical Energy
  • Sensors for Life Science and Healthcare
  • New frontiers in cryogenics

The salary is 1680 €/month during 36 months, including healthcare insurance (income tax to be deduced).

The UGA University fees are about 500 €/year.

If you agree to undertake light additional duties (such as teaching), your salary may rise up to about 1800 €/month.

Results of the PhD Call 2021

Five funded candidates :

  • LEBLANC Axel: “Superconducting devices in silicon”, co-supervisors F. Lefloch et Fabrice Nemouchi.
  • MORVEZEN Gwnenn: “Elaboration and Physical properties of switchable dielectric molecular materials for electrical energy applications”, co-supervisors Alain Sylvestre et Hervé Guillou.
  • TERRAL Océane : “Correlative microscopy for multiphysics sensing within neuron networks”, co-supervisors Cécile Delacour et Aurélie Dupont.
  • ZIBOROV Georgy: “Manipulation of magnetic skyrmions in ferrimagnetic oxides”, co-supervisors Olivier Boulle et Laurent Ranno, co-funded with Fondation Nanoscience.
  • KASSEM Ali: “Elastocaloric microwires”, co-supervisors Marc Verdier and Laureline Porcar, co-funded CEMAM-LANEF.

Four candidates co-funded by the National Quantum Programme and LANEF:

  • VERCESI Francesco “Non-equilibrium scaling phenomena and phase transitions in exciton-polariton condensates”, co-supervisors Léonie Canet et Maxime Richard.
  • LEFAUCHER Baptiste: “The “G-center”: an artificial atom for integrated quantum photonics on silicon”, co-supervisors Jean-Michel Gérard and Ségolène Olivier.
  • CHAMPAIN Victor: “Heat management in silicon-based spin qubit network”, co-supervisors Silvano de Franceschi and Clemens Winkelmann.
  • BERNAT Thomas: “Interactions between domain walls and vortices in topological triplet superconductors”, co-supervisors Manuel Houzet, Julia Meyer and Klaus Hasselbach.

Results of the PhD Call 2020

Four Candidates selected:

  • AUBERGIER Nathan: “Valley physics in silicon”, co-supervisors: Vincent Renard and Benjamin Piot.
  • CLOT Eric: “Spectroscopy of parametrically excited spin-waves by NV-magnetometry”, co-supervisors: Olivier Klein and  Benjamin Pigeau.
  • DAVEAU Nicolas: “Hybrid plasmonic nano-architectures assembled by DNA”, co-supervisors: Didier Gasparutto, Kuntheak Kheng and Guillaume Nonglaton, co-funded by ARCANE-LANEF.
  • RATH Aniket: “Nanotechnology and Quantum Engineering challenge”, co-supervisors: Benoit Vermersch and Cyril Branciard, co-funded with Fondation Nanoscience.

Two candidates on the reserved list:

  • 1. GAIGNARD Maxime: « A bright source of entangled photon pairs », co-supervisors: Jean-Philippe Poizat et Julien Claudon.
  • 2. VAN DUIJN Floris: « Exploring THz spintronics through spin dynamics in antiferromagnets», co-supervisors: Vincent Baltz, Ursula Ebels et Anne-Laure Barra.